Item 04 - Letter from Lady Grace Campbell, Halkhead, to John Campbell of Stonefield, Coutteratters, Newtile, Angus, concerning possible properties and family news.

Identity area

Reference code

GB 3452 SF-01-04


Letter from Lady Grace Campbell, Halkhead, to John Campbell of Stonefield, Coutteratters, Newtile, Angus, concerning possible properties and family news.


  • 1751 Aug 1751 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Letter, 3 pages

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

To Mr John Campbell Advocate
To the care of Mr Menzies
of Coutteratters at Newtile [sic]
In Angus
By Perth

My Dearest Moitié when I wrote you last I was in such a hurry I scarce knew what I said besides the disappointment of finding you gone further off, when I was looking out ev’ry moment for you coming, disconcerted me so much that my spirits quite forsook me, and all last night I could not get a wink of sleep for the Dismal apprehensions that I should be brought to Bed before you got back to me; tis true indeed, I am some weeks yet from my reckoning, but as I’m now got into the ninth month, so very little thing (the very fear of it) may bring the Child now into the World that I’m quite miserable My Dearest Jewel at the thoughts of you being away, & especially at such a Distance from me: so that I hope my Dear Life you will not regulate your motions by my Brothers; Lord Rosse had a letter last post from London, & the Duke does not leave that place till some time this week, a Gentleman who comes along with him told his correspondent so, therefore I fancy my Br will be in no hurry to leave Perthshire, I must beg however my Dr when you come that you’ll make easy journeys, for hard ridding [sic] is a most likely thing to occasion a fever, & more so at present, as they were never known to be more frequent, so I beg my dearest you will for my sake take that precaution in your travelling; Fineston of the three Houses, I should rather chuse; Dalkieth [sic] is much too Near that little Town; & Caroline Park too far from a market; but upon the whole, I should chuse a worse house independent of any Body; three hundred a year may always keep us out of any friends reverence, many a good family has no more for themselves or their Children after them, that live very easy & comfortably upon it; & provided we regulate our expences [sic] accordingly, so may we; Lord Rosse’s House at Melvill [sic] we may have from year to year; as to the rent & conditions we shall talk over at meeting, & you’ll then judge of it; I wish it was possible for one in your way of business to do as Lord Rosse did, in regard of his; for he went every day to Town for seven years & return’d again to dinner to Melvill so that my Lady had so much of his company as if he had been staying close at Home, but this Im afraid would answer one in yr way, which Im sadly vex’d at, for I must own My Dearest Life yr absence from me robs me of the principal happiness I am able to enjoy in this Life; this may seem romantick to one that does not know what tis to be divided from another self, but to none else, I’m sure, otherwise their sensations are different from mine; the Horses come for us tomorrow, so that we shall be at Home by Dinner; Mrs Campbells arm I hear is better, & the Children very well; Miss Semple stays behind; Lord & Lady Napier are here just now; all this good Family regrets yr not coming & join in kindly remembring [sic] you; do my Dearest [document damaged] my affectionate Service to my Br, who I hope I [document damaged] see before he leaves this country; I even am [document damaged] most beloved Moitié intirely [sic] & forever yours GC
Aug: 1st 1751

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Good condition

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Fineston seems to have been a property in Forfarshire; Caroline Park was east of Edinburgh, and Dalkeith to the south-east of the capital. Melville Castle was near Dalkeith and a home of Lord Ross[e]. Halkhead (modern spelling Hawkhead) was his seat in Renfrewshire.

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Entry created by Marian Pallister, 30/10/2018




Accession area